Encompassing more than a century of records, the Maine Marriage Records Index holds 857,130 marriage records. Specifically dating from 1892 to 1996, with the exception of 1967 to 1976, and these marriage records were retrieved from the Maine Department of Human Services. For further information or assistance with the Maine Marriage Records Index, visit the Maine Department of Human Services website.
The vital details available through the Maine Marriage Records Index includes: the individual's first, middle and last name; the gender of the individual; and the residence of the individual at the time of marriage.
These marriage records also include: the first, middle and last name of the spouse; the gender of the spouse; and the residence of the spouse at the time of marriage.
Other useful information in the Maine Marriage Records Index includes the marriage date and the marriage location.
The marriage records of the Maine Marriage Records Index are managed by the Maine Department of Human Services. To obtain original copies of the marriage records in this collection, contact the Maine Department of Human Services at:
Maine Department of Human Services
221 State Street
Augusta, Maine 04333
The Maine Department of Human Services holds all vital records for the state of Maine, including birth, marriage, divorce and death records. Records are available from 1923 to the present. Although Maine began keeping records in 1892, records dating 1892 to 1922 are available only through the Maine State Archives.
Individuals can request marriage records from the Vital Records division of the Maine Department of Human Services through a walk-in request at the Vital Records office on 244 Water Street in Augusta. Alternatively, you can submit a written request, which must include a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Finally, you can request a copy of marriage records online through an independent, third-party company, VitalChek Network. VitalChek is available online or by phone at 1-877-523-2659.
To request marriage records through the Maine Department of Human Services, individuals must include the name of the bride, the name of the groom, the date of marriage, the city or town where the marriage took place, and a check made payable to "Treasurer - State of Maine." The fee for a certified copy is $15.00.
It is important to understand that, by law, Maine vital records that are less than 100 years old are considered private. Therefore, in order to obtain copies of vital records made within the last century, individuals must provide proof that they are permitted by law to do so. Authorized individuals include: the person listed on the record; the spouse of the person listed on the record; the parent of the person listed on the record; the descendant of the person listed on the record; the legal custodian or guardian of the person listed on the record; or genealogists who hold a researcher card issued by the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Date, Research and Vital Statistics.
Start your free trial today to learn more about your ancestors using our powerful and intuitive search. Cancel any time, no strings attached.