Databases For Genealogical Research

A number of people are experimenting with using WWW and HTML to present the results of their genealogical research. Some of the known efforts are shown below. For alternate (and better!) listings of WWW genealogy databases see Tim Doyle's GenWeb Database Sites or Matthew Helm's Surname and Family Data. Both of these pages have search features.

This page is no longer being actively maintained.

  • Gary Hoffman (ghoffman@ucsd.edu) has proposed creating a distributed genealogy database called GenWeb using the World Wide Web concept. His proposal includes a demonstration of technology and an invitation to join a mailing list on the subject.
  • Bill Minnick has also mounted a WWW genealogy demonstration, sponsored by the Silicon Valley PAF Users Group.
  • Herbert Stoyan (hstoyan@faui80.informatik.uni-erlangen.de) is making available the Descendants of Charlemagne in English, Dutch and German. He has also produced a 30,000 name database of German nobility. Finally, his PARCHAM database includes about 6,000 names of descendants of Valentin Parcham of Pommerania.
  • Gene Stark (starkhome!gene@sbstark.cs.sunysb.edu) has a database of about 700 centered on the STARK family. The data pages are linked into working "family history" hypertext docments, summarizing research, and including background and images.
  • The DaLee family.
  • The ADAMS Genealogy from Columbia County Pennsylvania.
  • Jaynce's genealogy page's has information on the surname RUMMER.
  • The LACEY Family Homepage.

Put the knowledge you're learning to good use by signing up for a free trial
account and begin tracing your family history today.

Start 7-Day Free Trial ยป